Colouring in.

My sister has just returned from Australia. Being an extremely nosey individual I was going through her stuff and found a CD that she bought while out there. The CD is Making Mirrors by Gotye.

Gotye Making Mirrors.

The artwork on the front cover caught my attention so I opened the packet (it was still in the plastic sleeve) and explored some more.

Artwork by Frank De Backer. Making Mirrors - Gotye.

 The images are by the artist Frank De Backer and reminded me of an adult colouring book that I was given by a friend over christmas (Islands A coloring Book for Adults, Volume 2).

When I was a child I would spend hours and hours colouring in on anything and everything I could. I am not really sure when it stopped, but at some point I started to think that coloring in was for babies and I was much too grown up for it. My new book has changed that and got me colouring again. I have been enjoying it so much that I conscripted my sister to the cause and she has been colouring in too.

My colouring in.

Katherine's colouring in.

I have also been colouring in some black and white thank you cards that I bought to send out after christmas.  It certainly makes the job of writing easier if you can have a little fun customising one before writing the next.

My customised thank you card.

Katherine's customised card.

I had forgotten just how much fun colouring in can be. I am 26 years old and I love it! I think everyone should turn back the clock and do some colouring. If you have a go, let me know. I would love to see the fruits of your labour.  Just email them to  ‘thelinoprinter (at) googlemail.com’ and I can post them for everyone to have a look at.  Happy colouring!
One thought on “Colouring in.

  1. Nice 🙂 I kind of still do colouring in, and I’m 42. Most people think what I do is painting, but at heart I’m a draughtsman, not a painter, and there is most definitely a ‘colouring in’ stage to how my paintings come about…. of course, I have to draw my own outlines first….

Leave a Reply

