Postcards from Africa.

My sister recently went to Namibia for a geology field trip. While she was there she visited the National Art Gallery of Namibia in Windhoek. The gallery features mainly Namibia art and according to Katherine the majority of the art was print based. Over the past few weeks I have slowly been receiving all the postcards that Katherine bought in the gallery’s shop and posted to me. There are seven in all – she bought one of each postcard they stocked!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Unfortunately I have packed the cards somewhere safe and can’t currently find them, so I can’t tell you the names of most of the artists. The one I do know is John N Muafangejo. His images are all the black and white prints. He is one of the most famous artists from Namibia. He died in 1987 and according to a biography I just read, left more than 5000 linoleum cuts – averaging at one a day for 20 years. That is quite an achievement and puts me to shame!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Postcards from Africa.

Leave a Reply

