Winging it

I have always liked insects; their complicated intricate bodies are fascinating to look at. And have been thinking about starting a series of lino butterfly images for a while.

I finally got around to putting pen to paper last night. These are pencil, pen and ink  drawings on which I will base some my prints. As well as the design and outline, the different shades of grey indicate where the different printing layers might go.

These are just the first sketches. But I find that black and grey with another colour helps when it comes to dividing up the different printing stages. They also remind me what my intentions were once printing has started – I don’t work from a plan, but the sketches stop me going too crazy!

IMG_9240 IMG_0616 IMG_0621

4 thoughts on “Winging it

  1. Your sketches look good and are an excellent idea for linocut designs. I have to say I share your appreciation in butterflies as subject matter too. Nice work!

  2. Pingback: A studio finally | thelinoprinter

Leave a Reply

